Jujutsu Kaisen Shibuya Arc: Release Date + Where to watch?

Jujutsu Kaisen Shibuya Arc

Jujutsu Kaisen quickly rose to popularity as a Shonen ani-manga series but as the story progressed, it set itself apart from a generic Shonen by taking on unpredictable turns. Besides the unpredictable nature, Jujutsu Kaisen offered a lot to fans with adrenaline-inducing fights and lovable characters. Within the story, Jujutsu Kaisen Shibuya Arc is a fan favorite for its depiction of brutality and the consequential nature of life. 

Fans have gone as far as claiming it was the peak of the popular Shonen series. MAPPA perfectly adapted the backstory of Gojo and Geto in Jujutsu Kaisen season 2. Spectacularly portraying the build-up and the emotional turmoil experienced by the characters. The first 5 episodes introduced us to the villain Geto, and how he came to be as we know him. Everything was going perfectly fine until it was not.

Jujutsu Kaisen season 2
Gojo saving Riko in Jujutsu Kiasen season 2 | Image Courtesy of Studio MAPPA

From here on out, Jujutsu Kaisen has gone on a three-week-long break. Hence we’ll have to wait a little bit before we get the animation of the Shibuya arc. There’ll be special recap episodes for Season 1 and Season 2 along with movie recap. After that, this season will begin with the Shibuya Incident Arc. 

Jujutsu Kaisen Shibuya Arc: Release Date + Where to watch?

Jujutsu Kaisen manga
Itadori at the beginning of Shibuya Arc | Image Courtesy of Viz Media

Jujutsu Kaisen Shibuya Arc will begin with episode 6 on Thursday, August 31st.  The episode will air on the MBS, and TBS networks in Japan at 11:56 PM. As for the international fans, they can watch the episode on Crunchyroll as per the listed timings:

  • Pacific Time: Thursday, August 6th at 10:00 AM
  • Eastern Time: Thursday, August 6th at 1:00 PM
  • Central Time: Thursday, August 6th at 12:00 PM
  • British Summer Time: Thursday, August 6th at 6:00 PM
  • Indian Standard Time: Thursday, August 6th at 10:30 PM

The dubbed episodes are released soon after the subbed episodes, at 1:30 PM (PT). Besides Crunchyroll, Netflix is also streaming the new episodes. 

Additional information 

Riko in Jujutsu Kaisen
A still from Jujutsu Kaisen featuring Amanai Riko | Image Courtesy of Studio MAPPA
  • The Shibuya incident arc is almost 60 chapters long in the manga. It’s expected that the anime will cover the entirety of the arc with 18 episodes. 
  • The opening theme has been revealed to be ‘SPECIALZ’ by King Gnu

Everything that has happened in Jujutsu Kaisen Season 2 so far

Jujutsu Kaisen Season 2
Gojo Satoru and Geto Suguru in Jujutsu Kaisen | Image Courtesy of Studio MAPPA

Season 2 took us back to the past before Jujutsu Kaisen 0. At the beginning of the season, we get introduced to Riko. Gojo and Geto team up to protect her from Fushiguro Toji. Although both of them are the strongest, Toji manages to afflict severe wounds while killing off Riko.

Her loss and their incompetence start to drift them apart. Gojo defeats Toji to become the strongest while Geto starts to lose his mind as he experiences the ugly nature of humans. All of this leads to the characters as we know them in the present.

Conclusion

Gojo Satoru
A still from JJK season 2 trailer featuring Gojo Satoru | Image Courtesy of Studio MAPPA

Jujutsu Kaisen has been getting us acquainted with the past of the characters we’ve been introduced to in the first season. This form of storytelling has worked well in building up the tension. After the movie and the Hidden Inventory/ Premature Death arc, we’ll return to the present timeline. The thought of breaks is never pleasant, but fans are hoping to see the results in the animation in the upcoming episodes of Jujutsu Kaisen Season 2.

Scroll to Top