The Best Fate Series Watch Order: Your Ultimate Guide

Best Fate Series Watch Order

Hey, there anime enthusiasts! Have you ever heard of the anime series called Fate? If yes, then we’re pretty sure you are intrigued by its vast world but perhaps a little lost on where to start. We all have been on that page at a point in time. So, do not worry, we got you covered.

Here’s the best Fate series watch order. From the series’ origins to the spin-offs, here’s everything you need to know to embark on your Fate journey. Just have some fate, I mean faith, and follow along.

The Origin of the Fate Series:

Before diving right into the watch order of this complex anime series, let us first understand the origins of the Fate series. It all began with a visual novel titled Fate/Stay Night, developed by Type-Moon which was released in 2004. This visual novel presented three distinct story routes:

Fate Series Watch Order
© Original Author, Kinoko Nasu
  1. Fate
  2. Unlimited Blade Works
  3. Heaven’s Feel

Each offered unique narratives and a bunch of cool characters.

Fate Series Watch Order:

Now, let’s talk about what you are here for, yes, we’re talking about the Fate series watch order. Now, there are many opinions on the ideal starting point of the series, on the internet, but don’t let it confuse you. As avid Fate fans, we recommend beginning with the original 2006 anime adaptation of Fate/Stay Night. It provides a solid introduction to the anime’s lore and elements.

Here’s the complete Fate series watch order:

1. Fate/stay night (2006):

As already stated above, you should start your journey with this anime adaptation. It follows the Fate route of the visual novel. You get to experience protagonist Shirou Emiya’s initiation into the Holy Grail War and unravel the mysteries surrounding this supernatural conflict.

2. Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014-2015):

Next, dive right into the second route of the visual novel with this series. Follow Shirou and his ally Rin Tohsaka as they navigate through the challenges of the Holy Grail War, encountering new allies and adversaries along the way.

3. Fate/Stay Night [Heaven’s Feel] trilogy:

Conclude your exploration of Fate/Stay Night with the Heaven’s Feel route, depicted through a series of three movies:

  • Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] I. Presage Flower
  • Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] II. Lost Butterfly
  • Fate/stay night [Heaven’s Feel] III. Spring Song

Here, you get to witness Shirou’s descent into a darker reality as he confronts difficult choices and fights formidable enemies.

Fate/Zero: A Prequel Adventure:

Fate Zero Crunchyroll Banner
© Crunchyroll

By now, you should have become a very big fan of the Fate series, therefore if you are interested in uncovering the origins of key characters and conflicts, give this prequel series a watch.

Note: You can also start your Fate journey with Fate/Zero but for the best experience we recommend watching it at the end.

Fate Spinoffs and Side Stories Watch Order:

Once you’ve familiarized yourself with the main narrative Fate series, you may crave more. Not to worry, there’s a whole new world of Fate spinoffs and side stories. These standalone series offer unique perspectives and settings within the Fate universe. Each spinoff can be enjoyed independently and there’s no particular watch order.

  • Today’s Menu for the Emiya Family
  • Lord El-Melloi II Case Files
  • Fate/Prototype
  • Fate/strange Fake: Whispers of Dawn
  • Fate/Apocrypha
  • Fate/EXTRA Last Encore
  • Fate/kaleid liner PRISMA ILLYA
  • Carnival Phantasm

Fate/Grand Order Watch Order:

Fate Grand Order Banner
© Original Author, Kinoko Nasu

If you’re a gacha games lover (god forbid), you probably already have played the mobile game called Fate/Grand Order. In Fate/Grand Order, the story revolves around Chaldea, a Security Organization that fights to stop events called Singularities that threaten humanity’s survival. The anime covers eight Singularities from Part 1, each a separate story set in different time periods.

To experience the first five Singularities, you’ll have to play the FGO mobile game. With that being said, here’s the Fate/Grand Order Watch Order of the anime:

  • Fate/Grand Order: First Order
  • Fate/Grand Order: Camelot – Wandering; Agateram
  • Fate/Grand Order: Camelot – Paladin; Agateram
  • Fate/Grand Order Absolute Demonic Front: Babylonia
  • Fate/Grand Order Final Singularity – Grand Temple of Time: Solomon

Crafting Your Own Fate Series Watch Order:

While you can surely go ahead and make on, we suggest: Please don’t.

Start Your Fate Journey Now:

There you have it, the best Fate series watch order. You’ve made it this far, you should be no longer confused about the series’ watch order, be it the main storyline or spinoffs. This action-packed anime with a lot of great characters like Gilgamesh, Saber, and much more is easily a fan favorite of the veteran anime watchers. Therefore, you shouldn’t wait any longer, go and embark on your Fate journey now. GO!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top