The Four Seas of One Piece Explained

Four Seas of One Piece Explained

For the most part, the story of One Piece focuses on the Grand Line and everything that lies within it as far as the core narrative is concerned and sometimes extends to the Red Line. However, the Four Seas of One Piece were the initial canvas on which the Straw Hats’ adventures unfolded. Each sea has distinct traits and backstories that enrich the diverse world of One Piece. Here is everything you need to know about the Four Seas in the world of One Piece.

The Four Seas of One Piece

East Blue

As the starting point for Luffy’s journey and the setting for the first six arcs of the series, the East Blue is considered the most peaceful and weakest sea, despite being home to legendary figures like Gol D. Roger and Monkey D. Luffy.

It nurtured many prominent pirates and revolutionaries with its islands like Foosha Village and the Goa Kingdom. Though looked down on, the East Blue incubated some of the most influential characters in the series who went on to claim various accolades on both sides of the Law.

West Blue

Shanks meeting with Whitebeard When Shanks met Whitebeard, he said "When I look at your face, the scars I got from that man aches." This is highly possible that Whitebeard got the scars from Figarland Garling, considering his exploits with Rocks D. Xebec in Gods Valley. This might also indicate a possible connection between Shanks and the Figarland family. 
One Piece Shanks | Image courtesy of Toei Animation

Birthplace of powerful pirates like Red-Haired Shanks and Gecko Moria, the West Blue is defined by its lawlessness and criminal underworld.

  • Many notorious rogues originate from here, drawn to piracy and anarchy in this tumultuous sea.
  • It helped shape the experiences of Brook, Robin, and the Rumbar Pirates.
  • This sea is further fueled by the presence of five influential mafia organizations collectively known as the Five Families of the West.

South Blue

Teeming with exotic wildlife and renowned for martial arts mastery, the South Blue claims many infamous figures as its own. The sea’s culture of strength breeds larger-than-life pirates who domineer over the landscape alongside giant creatures.

  • The Straw Hat Pirates’ shipwright, Franky, and Portgas D. Ace, son of the Pirate King, originate from this sea.
  • Former Marine Admirals Sengoku and Kuzan, former Warlord of the Sea Bartholomew Kuma, and members of The Worst Generation Eustass Kid, Killer, and Jewelry Bonney also have ties to South Blue.
  • Out of the Four Seas, the South is the one we have the least amount of info on.

North Blue

How Oda symbolizes freedom via the battle of World Government and Pirate's desire for the One Piece
Donquixote Doflamingo, Courtesy of Toei Animation

North Blue holds a rich history and powerful individuals within its borders. The Straw Hat Pirates’ cook, Sanji, and legendary explorer Mont Blanc Noland, along with Marine Admirals Sakazuki and Borsalino, trace their origins to this sea.

  • The Worst Generation members Trafalgar Law, Basil Hawkins, and X Drake also have ties to this sea.
  • The infamous Donquixote Pirates, led by former Warlord of the Sea Donquixote Doflamingo, emerged from this sea as well.
  • The Bellamy Pirates and the Caribou Pirates are other notable pirate crews associated with North Blue.


One Piece’s Four Seas each tells a unique story through its history, culture, and famous residents. Together they compose a grand ocean teeming with possibilities for adventure, where aspiring pirates can make a name for themselves on the high seas.

Even though they are often overshadowed by the literal grandeur of the Grand Line, they play a vital role in the overall One Piece lore and narrative.

Scroll to Top