What are the Demon Slayer Marks?

What are the Demon Slayer Marks

The most recent fan-favorite shounen Demon Slayer has revealed a mysterious power-up called the Demon Slayer Mark. Combat is one of the most important aspects of battle shounen and within that, a trope that is universally deployed across all shounen anime are power-ups.

Different anime deal with these power-ups in different ways. Dragon Ball pioneered with the Super Saiyan, Naruto had Sharingan and its stages and One Piece had Luffy’s Gears. Following that, Fans have been asking – what are the Demon Slayer Marks?

What are the Demon Slayer Marks?


  • Demon Slayer Marks are mysterious markings that a Demon Slayer awakens under certain conditions. These take the form of weirdly shaped markings somewhere on the visible region of the user’s skin.
  • The mark’s pattern is representative of the user’s breathing style, but the location doesn’t seem to hold any significance.

Awakening a Demon Slayer Mark requires near-death experiences. A Demon Slayer who has reached a heart rate of over 200 beats per minute (BPM) and a body temperature of over 39° Celsius (102.2° Fahrenheit), conditions that are normally considered fatal, will be eligible to awaken the mark.

Origin of the Mark


The strongest Demon Slayer in existence, Yoriichi Tsugikuni, was the first known user of the Demon Slayer Mark. Unlike the others, his mark wasn’t spread to him, or neither did he awaken it, instead, he was born with it. After joining the Demon Slayer Corps, it was he who spread the mark to the rest of the Slayers.

Although it was widely used during the Golden Age of Demon Slayers, all history and knowledge of the Mark were lost to time due to the lack of preservation. Given how many times the Demon Slayer Corps was nearly destroyed, preserving the knowledge of the Mark wouldn’t have been a simple task either.

Powers and Abilities


The Demon Slayer Mark proves to be a tide-shifting ability that greatly enhances the user’s physical capabilities. The user’s strength, speed, and agility are increased multi-fold, giving an Hashira-level slayer the power to easily overpower lower-ranking Moons and fight on equal grounds with higher-ranking Upper Moons.

This power does come with a caveat, however. No known user of the Mark of the Demon Slayer has ever crossed to the age of twenty-five. The Mark exchanges the life span of the user for an immense increase in power. Apart from the physical abilities, the mark also provides certain unique powers.

  • Bright Red Nichirin Sword: Produce immense heat from the Slayer’s blade and hamper the healing prowess of Demons.
  • Resistance: The mark provides a level of resistance to Muzan’s Demon-Transforming Blood
  • Transparent World: An ability that allows the user to track the internal bodily movements of the target, including blood flow, breathing, muscular contractions, and joint movements.

Known Users

Is it true when fans say that Demon Slayer is 'only' good because of its Animation
Image Courtesy of Studio Ufotable

The following characters have managed to awaken the Demon Slayer Mark:

  • Tanjuro Kamado
  • Tanjiro Kamado
  • Muichiro Tokito
  • Mitsuri Kanroji
  • Giyu Tomioka
  • Gyomei Himejima
  • Sanemi Shinazugawa
  • Obanai Iguro
  • Yoriichi Tsugikuni
  • Michikatsu Tsugikuni



The Demon Slayer Mark perfectly fits the high-stakes, ride-or-die world of Demon Slayer. While some veteran Shounen fans might feel like there isn’t enough depth to the power due to the lack of explanation and a definite set of rules to the mark, it still could become an iconic Shounen power-up in the future.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top